Victorian treaty and self-determination community forum

Sunday, 26 March 2017 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Treaty (The Journey) remix by Razor Recordings

Victorian treaty and self-determination community forum

Today on Earth matters we yarn on TREATY and Self-determination in Victoria. It was back in mid-December of 2016 when the Aboriginal Victoria Forum was held in Melbourne for some community mob to come together to yarn on a Victoria Treaty and Self Determination. The community forum was a chance for local Victorian Traditional Owners and community members to hear the latest on treaty from the Victorian State Government and it was a good opportunity for community members to ask various questions and to get up to date on where the Treaty process is right now in Victoria.

Currently, Aboriginal Victoria is conducting forums for community members around the state of Victoria and one of the most recent community consultations was held this last week as community gathered to meet with Victorian State Government representatives on TREATY in Victoria and this meeting took place on Thursday at the Aborigine’s Advancement League in Thornbury, Melbourne. Coming up in this program you’ll hear from experts on treaties from here in Australia and from Canada and New Zealand and what a treaty means for Aboriginal and Islander people in Victoria. You’ll hear from all the latest on TREATY from Celeste Haldane, A Lawyer and The Acting Chief Commissioner BC Treaty Commission, Dr Mark McMillan Associate Professor Melbourne Law School, Tarneen Onus-Williams – a Member of the Aboriginal Treaty interim working group and Dr Carwyn Jones - Senior Lecturer at the faculty of Law Victoria University Wellington – New Zealand - but first lets here from Jason Midsfud – Executive Director Aboriginal Victoria.

White-lipped tree frog - Cairns, David Clode,
Sunday 11:00am to 11:30am
Local, national and international environmental issues from grassroots, activist perspectives with a strong social justice focus. Distributed nationally on the Community Radio Network.


Teishan Ahearne, Kerri-Lee Harding, Bec Horridge and Nicky Stott.